Evergreen Cemetery

So the night before my weekend begins, I usually go on Ebird.org and check out the sightings that have been going on around my area. ebird is an amazing tool that birders, and biologists use to see where the birds are at and what species are seen. Today I decided to check out this cemetery to go birding, which I honestly found to be a bit odd. I have gone out in the field and hiked miles away from civilization to go birding but never in a cemetery. But what the heck, I decided to give it a shot since there have been a lot of reports on migrating warblers. Once I got there I immediately saw the regulars, blue-jays, mocking birds, and starlings. After a couple of minutes looking for red starts ad cedar waxwings, i stumbled upon these two birders who asked me if i had seen certain species of warblers. I nodded no and we began to talk and update each other on our day. Apparently on of the ladies that were birding knows the area so well that she told me all the best spots that warblers like to hang out and feed. Certain trees that produce more ripe fruit and have more bugs, so I decided to follow them and see what we could find. We ended up seeing american redstarts, capmay warbler, black and white warbler, black throated blue warblers, ovenbirds, common yellow throats, least flycatcher. Amazing amount of birds I had never seen and all thanks to this lady who took me to these trees that had these awesome birds!

As a novice wildlife photographer, most of my pictures are of larger birds that don’t move around a lot so trying to get a good picture of these guys (wood warbler) was literally impossible. Unfortunately this birding adventure has no good pictures but I hope next week’s birding adventure will be more successful in photography. Until then guys

-Hans

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

