Mangrove Cuckoo

So one of the reasons why I haven’t been posting much stuff on here lately is because now with spring migration over and summer starting, the birding has now slowed down to almost a complete halt. You get your rarities here and there but most of the things you will see are your typical residents.

A couple of days ago, a friend, and excellent birder, Rangel told me about where to find a Mangrove Cuckoo in South Florida. I read on a report that there is a pair hanging out in the same area in south dade county. Rangel explained to me how to get there and I decided to make a short trip there this morning and hopefully find this very cool bird. Mangrove Cuckoos are a specialty here in South Florida. You can’t find them anywhere else in the United States except for south Florida!

Got there at 7:30am and went “hunting” for an hour and a half. No sign of them whatsoever so I decided to call it quits. I’ll try again next week at a different spot, homestead. Rangel told me that he has found several of them in that area before so I am gonna give it another shot next week. I did however manage to get a nice shot of this Killdeer, this morning.Image

He was foraging for food and did not seem to mind me being near him. Over the past couple of weeks, there have been interesting birds coming into the Wildlife Rehab Center I work at, I just forget to post them on here so I am gonna try to do my best to remember to take a picture of an interesting find and tell you guys about it. We got in a South Polar Skua and a Corey’s Shearwater!!! I could not be more excited to be able to handle those birds first hand and see them up close, since they are pelagics and it’s such a treat to see them in a lifetime. I’ll post the pictures later today or tomorrow when I upload them on the computer.

Updates: Life is going smoothly, nothing new or “life-changing” to report. I recently transferred to a new department at the wildlife rehab center and so far it is so going really well. I am on the scene first hand for these injured animals and the things I see while on the field is really rewarding. Not to mention I don’t have to be stuck in the clinic or the center all day. I don’t wanna celebrate too soon either because we all know, people eventually get tired of routine but for the meantime, I will soak in the good vibes and be excited for the opportunity to be in this department. Until then guys, have fun exploring!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

